Windows 8 Developer Preview on VMware Workstation 8 – Watch your memory allocation!!

It certaily feels like a Christmas tech fest this week what with Workstation8, SRM5, View 5 and now Msft Windows 8 Developer Preview all available to download. They can all join the new versions vSphere ESX 5.0 and vCloud Director in my test lab. but not wanting to be left out of the party, I have got a new build of Symantec ApplicationHA 6.0 pre Beta to play with, just in time for my lab at Vision EMEA in Barcelona in a couple of weeks time.

Upon installing the Developer Preview of Windows 8 onto my VMware Workstation 8 test system I did find one oddity, it was a bit frustrating especially during the final stages of the installation. The installation itself was a breeze as you would expect with any OS that VMware supports today, just remember to use “Windows 7” for 32bit or “Windows 7 x64” for 64bit as OS and your good to go. You can accept the majority of the remaining defaults when configuring the VM with just one exception, watch you memory allocation, I did see an issue when I allocated over 4Gb to my VM. All seemed fine during the actual Windows installation it was only when installing VMtools the installation hung and in one case when it did install successfully, upon the reboot I was presented with a perpetual blank screen.

I then brought down my memory allocation to 3Gb and all worked like a charm. I believe the tipping point was at 3840mb of RAM allocation so maybe if you want to set at 3.5Gb then all will be OK.

After the memory change everything worked as you would expect. The Metro UI interface moves really well once VMtools are installed.

About virtuallylg

Hello, my name is Lorenzo Galelli, I have been working with availability and virtualization solutions for Symantec for over a decade now and its amazing to see the impact virtualization has brought to the world of IT. During my time at Symantec I have worked as a systems engineer for customers big and small and seen a vast array of different virtualization projects. I am currently Technical Product Manager for ApplicationHA for VMware and KVM and I also have focus on VDI especially with Symantec's VirtualStore and FileStore technologies. Follow my blog for all things Symantec and virtualization. Opinions expressed here are my own.
This entry was posted in Microsoft, VMware. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

