Installing Windows Server “8″ Beta on VMware Workstation 8, It works, well sort of !!!

I had time this morning (while waiting for a problem to be fixed) to test the Beta Build of Windows Server “8″ that dropped yesterday, initially I was having issues installing VMtools on a custom “Windows 2008 R2 x64″ VM set at hardware compatability 8 and initially gave it from 2-4gb of memory, VMtools had issues installing TP drivers, VMCI and also SVGA drivers did not install, they actually caused a complete black screen which was similar to the Windows 8 Customer Preview MSFT released last year which SVGA issues were related to memory allocation issues.

I destoyed the VM and recreated a custom “Windows 2008 R2 x64″ version 7 VM with 1gb Ram and installed the Windows image with no issues, VMtools presented no problems either, so I then shutdown the VM and reset the memory to 2gb and powered back up, there were no issues, all is working fine.

Next is to try and see if the same is true for ESXi 5.0, I especially want to see if I can get Hyper-V working the same as I did for Windows 2008 R2.

Update will follow…

About virtuallylg

Hello, my name is Lorenzo Galelli, I have been working with availability and virtualization solutions for Symantec for over a decade now and its amazing to see the impact virtualization has brought to the world of IT. During my time at Symantec I have worked as a systems engineer for customers big and small and seen a vast array of different virtualization projects. I am currently Technical Product Manager for ApplicationHA for VMware and KVM and I also have focus on VDI especially with Symantec's VirtualStore and FileStore technologies. Follow my blog for all things Symantec and virtualization. Opinions expressed here are my own.
This entry was posted in Microsoft, VMware and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

