How to reset a lost HP ILO100 admin password with IPMItool

Slightly off the virtualization track but it is lab related…

A new addition to the home VMware lab arrived today, another ML110 G6, these systems are great for building a VMware environment and also have the added benefit of an ILO100 remote management board. I picked this one up from ebay for an amazing £120 and with some additional ram and possibly a CPU upgrade this will still be under £300 and for a quad core 16gb lab machine thats a bargain, finally I can build out SRM permanently intead of using my laptop VMs…

Anyway these ILO cards are great for remote management and I can place my servers out the way from the kids and remotely power on or connect via virtual KVM. The main issue I had with this one was that the admin password was unknown but with the use of the Intel tool  IPMItool its fairly straightforward to reset once a bootable USB stick is created.

follow the steps below to gain access back with your ILO

  • Create a DOS bootable disk (floppy or USB key)
  • Download the IPMItool from this link:     http://www.intel.com/design/servers/ipmi/ipmi_tool.htm 
  • Copy the IPMItool.exe to the bootable disk
  • Boot the server using the bootable disk
  • Run “ipmitool.exe 20 18 47 03 02 61 64 6d 69 6e 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00”
  • Now your password should reset back to “admin”

About virtuallylg

Hello, my name is Lorenzo Galelli, I have been working with availability and virtualization solutions for Symantec for over a decade now and its amazing to see the impact virtualization has brought to the world of IT. During my time at Symantec I have worked as a systems engineer for customers big and small and seen a vast array of different virtualization projects. I am currently Technical Product Manager for ApplicationHA for VMware and KVM and I also have focus on VDI especially with Symantec's VirtualStore and FileStore technologies. Follow my blog for all things Symantec and virtualization. Opinions expressed here are my own.
This entry was posted in VMware. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to reset a lost HP ILO100 admin password with IPMItool

  1. Faisal Khan says:

    Correction: It resets both the username and password to ‘admin’. Generally the username by default is “Administrator” and I kept trying with wrong sequences and eventually it did work with ‘admin’ ‘admin’.

  2. pat says:

    Do not run this on an HP DL160 G6 Lo100. I bricks the BMC. I’m still trying to figure out how to restore my Lo100 connection. I’ve set the lo100 ip address through the xml scripting tool on hp’s site and to no avail will it respond to a ping. If anyone has any ideas on how to wipe and restore the firmware on the BMC controller please respond.

Leave a Reply

