How to enable SSH on ESX 5 via vSphere Client

OK, so this is probably one of the easiest tasks to perform but its strange how many times I get asked how to enable this for remote access. I guess, most things people are really interested in are the new features which each version of ESX brings and may forget about the mundane stuff you may need for day to day admin.

  • First start the vSphere Client
  • Select the ESXi host in the configurations tab
  • Select Security Profile

  • Click on Properties in the upper right corner and you will get the a popup with all the services on this ESXi 5.0 hosts. Select the SSH service and press the Options button.

  • Now you can start the services and set the startup options

  • press okay and you are done..

that was easy wasn’t it

About virtuallylg

Hello, my name is Lorenzo Galelli, I have been working with availability and virtualization solutions for Symantec for over a decade now and its amazing to see the impact virtualization has brought to the world of IT. During my time at Symantec I have worked as a systems engineer for customers big and small and seen a vast array of different virtualization projects. I am currently Technical Product Manager for ApplicationHA for VMware and KVM and I also have focus on VDI especially with Symantec's VirtualStore and FileStore technologies. Follow my blog for all things Symantec and virtualization. Opinions expressed here are my own.
This entry was posted in VMware. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to enable SSH on ESX 5 via vSphere Client

  1. Thanks! Just what I was looking for!

  2. mark simmons says:

    Just what I was looking for today.

Leave a Reply

